Contact CPET

Center for Petrochemical Energy and Technology's (CPET) leaders are the bedrock of the center’s success. These experts oversee curriculum development and instruction, helping upskill employees and prepare the next generation of skilled professionals for the workforce.

Associate Vice Chancellor Jim Griffin

Leading the Charge at CPET

Jim Griffin, Associate Vice Chancellor, Senior Vice President - LyondellBasell Center for Petrochemical, Energy, & Technology

 With more than 30 years of experience in the petrochemical manufacturing industry, Jim has experienced the many changes in workforce demands and the increased need for workers with degrees and certificates. Jim began his career as an environmental, health, and safety engineer in Illinois, after completing his master’s thesis on chlorine handling and application safety. He’s also held several leadership roles, including

  • Chairman of the Board for EHCMA
  • Corporate Director and Plant Manager at various chemical plants
  • Vice President of Manufacturing at Dianal America
  • Manufacturing Director at PolyOne Corp.

Contact Jim at 281-542-2089 or

The CPET Team

Experts from across industries make up our advisory councils. These groups help shape curriculum and represent the very best of the petrochemical, energy, and technology fields.

Randy Boeding, R Boeding Group, LLC
Bob Bradshaw, INEOS Olefins and Polymers USA
Heather Broussard, Chevron Phillips Chemical Company
Chad Burke, Economic Alliance Houston Port Region
Omar Chapa, Kaneka North America LLC
Don Empfield, Jr., Turn2 Specialty Companies
Cathy Gill, Chevron Phillips Chemical Company
David Gosnay, LyondellBasell
Mike Gremillion, ISC Constructors, LLC
Jeff Hackney, Emerson Automation Solutions
Scott Hardegree, Kuraray
Monty Heins, Dow Chemical
Brandon Mabile, ECHMA
Charles Neal, Kuraray
Joshua Nehlig, TPC Group
Zach Philips, Chevron Phillips Chemical Company
Stacy Putman, INEOS Olefins and Polymers USA
Tifanie Steele, Chevron Phillips Chemical Company
Carla Thompson, Turner Industries Group
Dennis Winkler, Winkler Public Relations


W. L. “Bill” Baker, Pfeiffer & Son Ltd.
Brock Bihm, Mr. Electric
Laurie Bricker, Trio Electric
Michael Corrigan, TECO Westinghouse
Terry Droege, TDEC, Inc.
Phillip Jones, ACCESS Electric, Inc.
Meredith Mauricette, Trio Electric
Steve Piatt, ABACUS Plumb. AC & Elect.
Brandon Slaydon, ABACUS Plumb. AC & Elect.
Charles Smith, Thurmon Construction Co.
Carla Thompson, Turner Industries Group
Ronnie Tinsley, Direct Electric
Bill Ward, Wesco Systems, Inc.
David Wilson, Southwest Signs
Arturo Zuniga, AED Green Lighting


Phillip Arroyo, Altair Strickland
George Ayala, Marathon Galveston Bay Refinery
Richard Bass, Kuraray 
Mary Buchanan, Noltex
Don Cox, Total Safety
David Folmar, Starcon
Kimberly Mason, Associated General Contractors
Greg Mills, Shell Oil
Laura Nichols, Phillips 66
Amy Parent
Jason Rosenboom, Cajun Contractors, LLC
Ed Scheinberg, University of Houston- Downtown
Seth Wilkins, Cajun Contractors, LLC


Owen Farmer, NASA/Johnson Space Center
David Fredrichsen, Worley
Jesus Gonzalez, JEGON Industrial
Jeff Gourley, Draco Global Solutions
Keith Grogan, Bureau Veritas North America, Inc.
Jim Gustafson, Acuren Inspection
Lupe Hernandez Jr., Worley
Will Huff, Greater Houston ASNT (itRobotics)
Don Locke, Hellier NDT
Dave Menne, Olympus America, Inc.
Robert Ott, McDowell Safety & Health Services
Michael Prior, Quality Institute of America (QIA), Inc.
Chris Rahe, D&C Inspection Services, Inc.
Chris Rodriguez, Olympus America, Inc.
Allen Sanders, AMERAPLEX Corp.
Donald Savage, Turner Industries Group
John Stoll, ARC Specialties
Juan Alberto Villarreal, Austin Industrial
John Willis, Eco Services Operations
Scott Witkowski, Republic Testing Laboratories, LLC


Gene Beebe, Vector Controls & Automation
Gary Cowart, Dow Chemical
John Gardner, Siemens
Rachelle Henson, W.R. Grace
Gregg Kennedy, Ineos Olefins and Polymers USA
EJ Malek, Puffer-Sweiven
Andrea Shiloh, East Harris County Empowerment Council
Gina Sweeney, Certified Staffing
Jeff Tilley, Flint Hills Resources


Benjamin Ford, Air Products
David Gosnay, LyondellBasell
Carrie Hebert, Ineos Styrolution America, LLC
Rachelle Henson, W.R. Grace
Dennis Johnson, GoJohnson
Kaci Johnson, GoJohnson
Herbert Lee, Kaneka North America, LLC
Terry Phillips, W.R. Grace
Stacy Putman, Ineos Olefins and Polymers USA
Claudia Ramirez, Kuraray
Charles Saunders, Ineos Styrolution America, LLC
Mark Staes, LyondellBasell
Ronald Wills, Air Products


Center for Petrochemical Energy and Technology's

Visit CPET

Stop by or reach out to us with questions or inquiries. 

Get in Touch

Phone (281) 998-6150

Hours 8 A.M. - 5 P.M.

Location 7901 Fairmont Pkwy
Pasadena, TX

Get in Touch

Phone (281) 998-6150

Hours 8 A.M. - 5 P.M.

Location 7901 Fairmont Pkwy
Pasadena, TX