San Jacinto College District Regular Board Meeting Minutes

September 11, 2017

The Board of Trustees of the San Jacinto Community College District met at 7:00 p.m., Monday, September 11, 2017, in Room 104 of the Thomas S. Sewell District Administration Building, 4624 Fairmont Parkway, Pasadena, Texas, for the Regular Board Meeting.

Board of Erica Davis Rouse, Assistant Secretary

Trustees: Marie Flickinger, Chair

Dan Mims, Vice Chair

John Moon, Jr. Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson

Absent: Keith Sinor, Secretary

Chancellor: Brenda Hellyer

Others Present: Joshua Banks Alexander Okwonna

Michelle Callaway Jeff Parks Pam Campbell Pat Pollard Cristina Cárdenas Bill Raffetto Larry Claflin Shelley Rinehart Janet Cowey Martha Robertson Teri Crawford **Kelly Simons** Susanne DeBlanc Debbie Smith Chris Duke **Danny Snooks** Ken English John Stauffer

George González Janice Sullivan
Rebecca Goosen Steve Trncak
Allatia Harris Van Wigginton
Claire Iannelli Laurel Williamson
Sallie Kay Janes Joanna Zimmermann

Mark Johnson Brenda Jones Bryan Jones Ruth Keenan Tami Kelly

Ann Kokx-Templet

Chet Lewis Kevin Morris Call the Meeting to order:

Chair Marie Flickinger called the Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 7:08 p.m.

Roll Call of Board

Erica Davis Rouse Dan Mims John Moon, Jr. Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson

Members:

Absent:

Keith Sinor

Invocation and Pledges to the Flags:

The invocation was given by Dr. Brenda Jones. The pledges to the American flag and the Texas flag were led by John Moon, Jr.

Special Announcements, Recognitions, and There were no special announcements, recognitions, or introductions.

Student Success Presentations:

Presentations:

1. Van Wigginton and Michelle Callaway presented an update on Spring 2017 Course Retention and Success.

Communications to the Board:

- 1. A thank you was sent to the Board from Cristina Cárdenas, for the plant sent in memory of her father.
- 2. A thank you was sent to the Board from Sara Stegall, for the plant sent in memory of her grandfather.
- 3. A thank you was sent to the Board from Kathy Westmoreland, for the plant sent in memory of Louis Westmoreland.
- 4. A thank you was sent to the Board from Steve Coycault, for the plant sent in memory of his wife, Marilyn.
- 5. A thank you was sent to the Board from Rob Stanicic, for the plant sent in memory of his mother.

Dr. Brenda Hellyer acknowledged the efforts of the College community in the recovery from Hurricane Harvey. She thanked the Board, Strategic Leadership Team, Administrators, Faculty, Staff, and other community members for their continued support and dedication to student success.

Hearing of Such Citizens or Groups of **Citizens Desiring** to be Heard **Before the Board:** There were no citizens desiring to be heard before the Board.

Informative Reports:

Marie Flickinger indicated such reports were in the Board documents.

Motion 9807 Consideration of Approval of

Motion was made by Larry Wilson, seconded by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, for Approval of Amendment to the 2017-2018 Budget for Restricted Revenue and Expenses Relating to Federal and State Grants.

Amendment to the 2017-2018

Motion Carried.

Budget for

Restricted Yeas: Davis Rouse, Mims, Moon, Jr., Wheeler, Wilson

Revenue and

Navs: None

Expenses Relating to Federal and **State Grants**

Motion 9808 Motion was made by Erica Davis Rouse, seconded by John Moon, Jr., for approval of the Interlocal Agreement between San Jacinto Community **Consideration of** College District and Houston Community College System. Approval of

Interlocal Agreement

Motion Carried.

between San

Jacinto Yeas: Davis Rouse, Mims, Moon, Jr., Wheeler, Wilson

Community **College District** and Houston **Community College System**

Navs: None

Motion 9809 Consideration of A Resolution for

Motion was made by John Moon, Jr., seconded by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, for Approval of a Resolution for Casting a Ballot for the Nomination of a Person to the Board of Directors of the Harris County Appraisal District.

Casting A Ballot For The

Nomination Of A Motion Carried.

Person To the

Board of Yeas: Davis Rouse, Mims, Moon, Jr., Wheeler, Wilson

Directors Of The Harris County Appraisal District

Nays: None

Motion 9810 Consideration of Purchasing Requests

Motion was made by Larry Wilson, seconded by Dan Mims, for approval of the purchasing requests.

RFP #17-18

Disaster Recovery Services \$ -

RFP #18-02

Trash Disposal Services 250,000

CMR #18-03

Construction Manager-at-Risk for South Campus

Engineering & Technology Building	1,244,726
IFB #18-07 Enterprise Term License Agreement for Adobe Products	119,770
Purchase Request #1 Purchase Robots for the Advanced Manufacturing Lab at the North Campus Center for Industrial Technology	90,540
Purchase Request #2 Commissioning Services for Central Campus Welcome Center Building	116,200
Purchase Request #3 Purchase Network and Wireless Equipment	1,461,000
TOTAL OF PURCHASE REQUESTS	63,282,236
Motion Carried.	
Yeas: Davis Rouse, Mims, Moon, Jr., Wheeler, Wilson Nays: None	
Motion was made by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, seconded by John Moon, Jr., to approve the consent agenda.	

Motion 9811 Consent Agenda

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Davis Rouse, Mims, Moon, Jr., Wheeler, Wilson

Nays: None

Adjournment: Meeting Adjourned at 7:27 p.m.